Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Parliamentary Agents

Parliament is changing the way applications to the Parliamentary "Roll A" are made. The note Roll A Application Instructions (pdf, 439KB) gives details of how that is being managed.

The following firms are the existing firms with one or more "Roll A" Parliamentary Agent who can act for the promoters of private legislation or assist in opposing it in Parliament. Copies of private bills may be purchased from the particular Parliamentary Agent responsible for each bill (whose name is given at the end of the text of the bill).

Listed below are the Parliamentary Agents current at September 2023

Bates Wells & Braithwaite London LLP

10 Queen Street Place
London EC4R 1BE
Roll A Agent – Mark Abbott

Bexley Beaumont Limited

Centurion House
129 Deansgate
Manchester M3 3WR
Roll A Agent – Richard Bull

BDB Pitmans LLP

One Bartholomew Close
London EC1A 7BL
Tel: 020 7783 3437
Roll A Agents – Ian H McCulloch, E N (Nick) W Brown, David Mundy, Nicholas Evans, Mustafa Latif-Aramesh
Roll C Parliamentary Clerk – Mrs Pam J Thompson

Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP

Adelaide House
London Bridge
London EC4R 9HA
Tel: 020 3400 1000
Roll A Agent - Ms Helen Kemp

Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP

1 Wood Street
London EC2V 7WS
Tel: 020 7497 9797
Roll A Agents – Stephen Collings, James O’Connor, Juliet Clark 
Roll C Parliamentary Clerks – Mr Darren C White, Mr David Slevin –
020 79194878

Pinsent Masons LLP

30 Crown Place, Earl Street
London EC2A 4ES
Tel: 020 7418 7000
Roll A Agent – Robbie J V Owen
Roll C Parliamentary Clerk – Frances Ellis - 020 7667 0164

Sharpe Pritchard LLP

Elm Yard
10-16 Elm Street
London WC1X 0BJ
Tel: 020–7405 4600
Roll A Agents – W A (Alastair) Lewis, Emyr Rh Thomas

Winckworth Sherwood LLP

Arbor, 255 Blackfriars Road
London SE1 9AX
Tel: 020–7593 5000
Roll A Agents – Paul M C F Irving, Mrs Alison M H Gorlov, Mrs Jane Wakeham
Roll C Parliamentary Clerk – Mr David Walker

City Remembrancer

City of London Corporation
City Remembrancer's Office
PO Box 270
London EC2P 2EJ
Tel: 020–7332 1200
Roll A Agents – Paul Double, Paul Wright