Skip to main content

By-election results: 1992-97

This factsheet has been archived.

There were 18 by-elections in the 1992 Parliament. Of these by-elections, nine resulted in a change in winning party compared with the 1992 General Election. The Conservatives lost eight seats of which four went to the Liberal Democrats and three to Labour. Sixteen of the by-elections were caused by the death of the sitting Member of Parliament, while the other two followed resignations.

Find out more

House of Commons Enquiry Service

Telephone: 020 7219 4272
Text phone: Dial 18001 followed by 020 7219 4272