Skip to main content

By-election results: 1987-92

This factsheet has been archived.

There were 24 by-elections in the 1987 Parliament. Of these by-elections, eight resulted in a change in winning party compared with the 1987 General Election. The Conservatives lost seven seats of which four went to the Liberal Democrats and three to Labour. Twenty of the byelections were caused by the death of the sitting Member of Parliament, while three were due to resignations.

  • M12 - By-election results: 1987-92 (pdf 517KB)
  • Find out more

    House of Commons Enquiry Service

    Telephone: 020 7219 4272
    Text phone: Dial 18001 followed by 020 7219 4272