Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

General Election 2024 timetable

A general election will be held on 4 July 2024. This is the timetable of events up to and after the date of the election.


Thursday 30 May - dissolution of Parliament

Dissolution is the official term for the end of a Parliament. The King dissolved Parliament by Royal Proclamation on Thursday 30 May 2024.

The proclamation also set the date for the return of Parliament after the election as 9 July 2024.

Instructions, known as writs, are issued for elections to take place in the UK's 650 constituencies.

Friday 7 June - deadline for the delivery of nomination papers

Candidates intending to stand for election as an MP need to hand in nomination papers by 4pm.

Candidates who want to withdraw their nominations need to do so by 4pm.

Tuesday 18 June - voter registration deadline

To vote in the 2024 General Election you need to be registered to vote by midnight on 18 June 2024.

Wednesday 19 June - deadline for postal vote applications

There are many ways to vote. The deadline for a new postal or postal proxy vote - and any changes to existing postal votes - need to be in by 5pm.

Wednesday 26 June - deadline for Voter Authority Certificate applications and proxy vote applications

When you register to vote, you’ll be asked whether you have photo ID or if you want to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate. The deadline to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate to vote in the 2024 general election is 5pm on Wednesday 26 June.

The deadline for applying for a new proxy vote (except for emergency proxies) is also 5pm.

Thursday 4 July - polling day

Polling booths will be open between 7am and 10pm.

Counting of votes begins when the polls close.

Tuesday 9 July - Parliament returns for the election of the Speaker

The Speaker is elected (or re-elected) on the first day that the House meets after the General Election.

MPs and members of the House of Lords swear the oath of allegiance or make a solemn affirmation.

Wednesday 17 July - State Opening of Parliament

The State Opening marks the formal start of the parliamentary year. The King's Speech sets out the government’s proposed policies and legislation for the coming session.