By-elections in the 2005-2010 Parliament

By-elections during the 2005-2010 Parliament

This page gives details of the UK parliamentary by-elections that took place during the 2005-2010 Parliament.

Constituency Reason for by-election Date of by-election New Member
Strangford Resignation of Iris Robinson (DUP) 15 January 2009. No by-election called. Jim Shannon (elected at 2010 general election)
North West Leicestershire Death of David Taylor (Lab/Co-op) 26 December 2009. No by-election called. Andrew Bridgen (elected at 2010 general election)
Glasgow North East Resignation of Rt Hon Michael Martin (Speaker) 22 June 2009. 12 November 2009

William Bain (Labour win)

Norwich North Resignation of Dr Ian Gibson (Lab) 8 June 2009. 23 July 2009

Chloe Smith (Conservative gain)

Glenrothes Death of John MacDougall (Lab) 12 August 2008. 6 November 2008

Lindsay Roy (Labour hold)

Glasgow East Resignation of David Marshall (Lab) 30 June 2008. 24 July 2008

John Mason (SNP gain)

Haltemprice and Howden Resignation of Rt Hon David Davis (Con) 18 June 2008. 10 July 2008

David Davis (Conservative hold)

Henley Resignation of Boris Johnson (Con) 4 June 2008. 26 June 2008

John Howell (Conservative hold)

Crewe and Nantwich Death of Gwyneth Dunwoody (Lab) 17 April 2008. 22 May 2008

Edward Timpson (Conservative gain)

Ealing Southall Death of Piara Khabra (Lab) 19 June 2007. 19 July 2007

Virendra Sharmar (Labour hold)

Sedgefield Resignation of Rt Hon Tony Blair (Lab) 27 June 2007. 19 July 2007

Phil Wilson (Labour hold)

Bromley and Chislehurst Death of Rt Hon Eric Forth (Con) 17 May 2006. 29 June 2006

Bob Neill (Conservative hold)

Blaenau Gwent Death of Peter Law (Ind) 25 Apr 2006. 29 June 2006

Dai Davies (Independent hold)

Dunfermline and West Fife Death of Rachel Squire (Lab) 5 January 2006. 9 Feb 2006

Willie Rennie (Lib Dem gain)

Livingston Death of Rt Hon Robin Cook (Lab) 6 August 2005. 29 Sep 2005

Jim Devine (Labour hold)

Cheadle Death of Patsy Calton (LD) 29 May 2005. 14 Jul 2005

Mark Hunter (Lib Dem hold)

House of Commons Library analysis

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs and their staff of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.


The UK is currently divided into 650 areas called parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one MP in the House of Commons.

Electoral Commission

The Electoral Commission is an independent body, accountable directly to the UK Parliament, that regulates elections in the UK, promotes voter awareness and works to build confidence in the electoral process.

Parliament is not responsible for the content of external websites.