By-elections in the 2015-17 Parliament

By-elections in 2015-17 Parliament

This page gives details of UK parliamentary by-elections in the 2015-17 Parliament.


Reason for by-election

Date of by-election

New Member

Manchester Gorton Death of Sir Gerald Kaufman
This seat was contested at the General Election on 8 June 2017 Afzal Khan
(Labour hold)
Copeland Resignation of Jamie Reed 23.01.17 23 February 2017 Trudy Harrison (Conservative gain)
Stoke-on-Trent Central Resignation of Tristram Hunt 23.01.17 23 February 2017 Gareth Snell (Labour hold)
Sleaford and North Hykeham Resignation of Stephen Phillips 04.11.16 8 December 2016 Caroline Johnson (Conservative hold)
Richmond Park Resignation of Zac Goldsmith 25.10.16 1 December 2016 Sarah Olney (Liberal Democrat gain)
Witney Resignation of David Cameron 12.09.16 20 October 2016 Robert Courts (Conservative hold)
Batley and Spen Death of Jo Cox 16.06.16 20 October 2016 Tracy Brabin (Labour hold)
Tooting Resignation of Sadiq Khan 09.05.2016 16 June 2016 Rosena Allin-Khan (Labour hold)
Ogmore Resignation of Huw Irranca-Davies 23.03.2016 5 May 2016 Chris Elmore (Labour hold)
Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough Death of Harry Harpham 04.02.2016 5 May 2016 Gill Furniss (Labour hold)
Oldham West and Royton Death of Michael Meacher 21.10.2015 3 December 2015 Jim McMahon (Labour hold)

House of Commons Library analysis

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs and their staff of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.


The UK is currently divided into 650 areas called parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one MP in the House of Commons.

Election timetables

The Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 increased the length of Parliamentary election timetables, both for general elections and by-elections.