Skip to main content

The State Opening of Parliament 

The UK general election took place on Thursday 4 July 2024. The new Parliament met on Tuesday 9 July 2024 for the election of the Speaker and swearing-in of MPs and Lords. The State Opening of Parliament and The King’s Speech will take place on Wednesday 17 July 2024.

Find out more about:

View the 2024 general election results.

Grand Committees

The term Grand Committee is used differently in each House: in the Lords, the Grand Committee is a secondary debating chamber where any member of the House of Lords may attend and speak. In the House of Commons, Grand Committees have been appointed to debate issues affecting one country or region within the UK. 


Grand Committees: House of Lords

Debates take place regularly in House of Lords Grand Committee and sittings can happen simultaneously with debates in the main chamber. Bills that are not committed to a Committee of the Whole House in the Lords are most often debated in Grand Committee instead. The proceedings are identical to those in a Committee of the Whole House except that voting is not allowed. This means that all decisions must be made unanimously. Any Member of the House of Lords may attend Grand Committee.

Grand Committees in the Commons

Welsh Grand Committee

The Welsh Grand Committee consists of the 40 Welsh MPs, and currently up to 5 others. It debates issues relevant to Wales, such as the draft Wales Bill which was debated in the previous Parliament.

Scottish Grand Committee

The Scottish Grand Committee includes all 59 MPs representing Scottish constituencies. It may meet anywhere in Scotland as well as Westminster. Traditionally it considered the principles of Scottish Bills which were referred to it at second reading. However, UK Parliament Bills relating only to Scotland are rare since the establishment of the Scottish Parliament. It also takes questions and statements and debates other matters concerning Scotland. However, there have been no meetings of the Committee in the last few years.

Northern Ireland Grand Committee

The Northern Ireland Grand Committee includes each of the 18 MPs in Northern Ireland, together with up to 25 other MPs. It debates matters relating specifically to Northern Ireland.

Regional Grand Committees

Regional Grand Committees were established in November 2008 but Standing Orders that set up these committees expired in April 2010. Regions of the UK that were covered by a Regional Grand Committee included:

  • East Midlands
  • East of England
  • North East
  • North West
  • South East
  • South West
  • West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and the Humber

Find debates in Grand Committee

You can read debates that have taken place in House of Lords Grand Committee - and recent grand committee sittings in the Commons - in Hansard Online:

Find debates in House of Commons Grand committees from 1997-2016 in the archive: