Defence and Security Committee

The Defence and Security Committee examines ongoing operations, partnerships and programmes to find how NATO can continually improve its effectiveness as an Alliance. It has two sub-Committees which each hold two meetings a year.  Rt Hon Sir John Stanley MP was elected to the post of Chair of the sub-Committee on Transatlantic Defence and Co-operation in 2010. 

UK members of the Committee:

Full members Alternate members
Jason McCartney MP Andrew Rosindell MP
Madeleine Moon MP James Gray MP
Alec Shelbrooke MP Jack Lopresti MP MP
Rt Hon Lord Campbell of Pittenweem CH CBE QC Baroness Adams

Alternate members of the Committee may attend its meetings when a full member is unable to do so.  In 2010, the Committee adopted the following reports: 

Committee/Sub-Committee Report Rapporteur

More information on the Committee's activities is available on the NATO PA website:

NATO Parliamentary Assembly Defence and Security Committee