CPA UK Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is made up of 20 parliamentarians, 14 of whom are from the House of Commons and six of whom are from the House of Lords

The party membership of the Committee reflects the current state of the parties in Parliament as advised by the Clerk of the House and the Clerk of the Parliaments respectively.

Election of Executive Committee

The CPA UK Executive Committee is elected at the organisation's Annual General Meeting (AGM). Only one vote can be cast in favour of any one candidate. If more than twenty votes are cast on one ballot paper, that paper will be invalid. Two Members who are not standing for election are appointed by the Chairman at the AGM to act as tellers to count the votes cast.


All CPA UK members are eligible for election to the Executive Committee. To become a candidate, the interested parliamentarian must be nominated by a single proposer who must give written notice of the nomination with the nominee's consent at least one week prior to the AGM. 

Term of Office

The Chair of the Executive Committee is elected from the Government side and serves for a three-year period. The post of Honorary Treasurer is held by a member of the Executive Committee from the main opposition party. This post runs concurrently with that of the Chairman. Three Vice-Chairmen (one Government, one Opposition and one from the House of Lords) are elected annually.

Current Executive Committee

The current Executive Committee was elected at the AGM on 26 June 2013.

Chair of the Branch
Rt Hon. David Cameron MP (Prime Minister) (Ex-officio)

Chair of the Executive Committee
Rt Hon. Sir Alan Haselhurst MP

Honorary Treasurer
Rt Hon. Kevin Barron MP

Hugh Bayley MP 
Dr Roberta Blackman-Woods MP (BIMR Regional Representative)
Rt Hon. Malcolm Bruce MP
Alun Cairns MP
Rt Hon. Lord Dholakia OBE DL
Thomas Docherty MP
Rt Hon. Lord Foulkes of Cumnock
Rt Hon. David Hanson MP
Rt Hon. Baroness Hayman GBE
Rt Hon. Baroness Hooper CMG
Rt Hon. Baroness Hughes of Stretford
Pauline Latham OBE MP
Ian Liddell-Grainger MP
Professor Lord McColl of Dulwich CBE
Anne McIntosh MP
John Robertson MP
Andrew Rosindell MP
Craig Whittaker MP

Follow CPA UK on...