BIMR activities

The two major BIMR activities are the Annual General Meeting (AGM) and the BIMR Regional Conference. Other activites may occur on an ad-hoc basis and have included seminars, workshops and delegations

BIMR Annual Conference

The BIMR Annual Conference is hosted by a different Branch each year, chosen on a rotational basis.

The Annual Conference reflects the priorities of good governance and parliamentary democracy by addressing issues such as:

  • ICT techonology
  • Children’s rights
  • Corruption
  • Poverty reduction
  • Sustainable development
  • Trade and investment

41st BIMR Regional Conference 2010

Held in the Isle of Man from 11-14 May 2010 the Regional Conference was entitled 'Technology and democracy: successes and challenges'. Looking in detail at possibilities, rights and challenges, the three-day conference engaged delegates in a number of topical plenary sessions.

After a successful conference, delegates agreed that the topic of technology and democracy should be revisited on an international setting so that other challenges and opportunities could be addressed.

40th BIMR Regional Conference 2009

Held in Guernsey from 15-19 June 2009 the Regional Conference entitled 'The international Economic Downturn, its Impacts and the responsibilities of Parliamentarians' aimed to explore and discuss the characteristics of the global financial system, the reasons for its collapse and the impact of the crisis on the global economy.

The conference concluded with the publication of a communiqué which urged "parliamentarians to debate and scrutinise in our legislative bodies to ensure that the needs of local economies and financial industries are taken into account. Furthermore, we stress the necessity to raise awareness of the global repercussions of the economic crisis and the vital position of Parliamentarians within this framework".

BIMR Annual General Meeting

The BIMR Regional AGM is held during the BIMR Annual Conference. The AGM is the authority for all Regional activities and is chaired by the longest serving of the three rotating Regional Representatives.