Current State of the Parties

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Monday 30 March 2015. All business in the House of Commons has come to an end and there are no Members of Parliament. Every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 7 May 2015.

Total number of seats 650
Working Government Majority0

Composition of the House of Commons at the end of the 2010-15 Parliament

The list below details the composition of the House of Commons at the end of the 2010-2015 Parliament, based on the number of MPs in each party. If an MP was not a member of a political party they are counted as an 'Independent'.



Conservative 302
Labour 256
Liberal Democrat 56
Democratic Unionist 8
Scottish National 6
Independent 5
Sinn Fein 5
Plaid Cymru 3
Social Democratic & Labour Party 3
UK Independence Party 2
Alliance 1
Green 1
Respect 1
Speaker 1
Total number of seats 650
Working Government Majority  73

Speaker: John Bercow. Deputy Speakers: Mr Lindsay Hoyle, Dawn Primarolo and Mrs Eleanor Laing.

Government majority calculated as Conservative and Liberal Democrat MPs less all other parties. This calculation excludes the Speaker, Deputy Speakers* (2 Labour, 1 Conservative) and Sinn Fein.

Seats won at the 2010 General Election

Liberal Democrat57
Democratic Unionist8
Scottish National6
Sinn Fein5
Plaid Cymru3
Social Democratic & Labour Party3
Total number of seats 650

Websites of the political parties

Below are links to the websites of the political parties that were represented in the House of Commons during the 2010-2015 Parliament:

Parliament is not responsible for the content of external websites.

Parliament and women

News, events and research from the UK Parliament on women’s rights and representation – yesterday and today