Dissolution of Parliament

Following the dissolution of Parliament on Monday 30 March 2015 there are no Members of Parliament. Every seat in the Commons will be vacant until after the general election on 7 May 2015.

Members of the House of Commons


Following the dissolution of Parliament on 30 March 2015, there are no MPs. The Find Your MP service will be unavailable until after the general election on 7 May 2015.

You can contact the House of Commons Information Office via email or by telephone on 020 7219 4272 for assistance.


The UK is currently divided into 650 areas called parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one MP in the House of Commons.

2015 election timetable

The general election will take place on Thursday 7 May 2015. Read the timetable for what is expected to happen, from the end of the current Parliament through to polling day and beyond.

Parliament and government

Parliament and government are two separate institutions that work closely together.

The Government does not resign when Parliament is dissolved. Government ministers remain in charge of their departments until after the result of the election is known and a new administration is formed.

Find out more about ministers and how government works on the Government’s website.

Contact the House of Commons

The Commons Information Office answers questions about the business, history and membership of the House.

Telephone: 020 7219 4272
Email: Commons Information Office
Text phone: Dial 18001 followed by 020 7219 4272

The telephone enquiry service is open between 10am-12 midday and 2pm-4pm (Monday to Friday).