Her Majesty's Government

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Monday 30 March 2015. All business in the House of Commons has come to an end and there are no MPs. Every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 7 May 2015.

The Government does not resign when Parliament is dissolved. Government ministers remain in charge of their departments until after the result of the election is known and a new administration is formed.

Find out more about ministers and how Government works on the Government's website.

Filter by:

The Cabinet

Post Member

Also attend Cabinet meetings

Leader of the House of Lords and Lord Privy Seal The Rt Hon. the Baroness Stowell of Beeston MBE (Con)

Also attend Cabinet meetings

Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) The Rt Hon. the Baroness Anelay of St Johns DBE (Con)