Early day motion 74

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the election of five disabled hon. Members on 8 June 2017, an increase of three on the 2015-2017 Parliament; notes that disabled people are still under-represented in the House, and in politics more widely; further notes that a strong democracy is an inclusive one, and that, as elected representatives, disabled people can directly contribute valuable lived experience to the development of inclusive policy; is concerned that we need to do much more to encourage a diverse mix of local, regional and national election candidates that better reflects the society we live in; deeply regrets the time taken to date to evaluate the pilot Access to Elected Office Fund since its closure in May 2015; notes the Equality and Human Rights Commission's September 2015 recommendation that the Government reopen the Fund in England and work with the Scottish and Welsh Governments to explore options for making the scheme, or similar funds, available across Great Britain; further welcomes the success of the pilot Access to Elected Office Fund (Scotland), administered by Inclusion Scotland and funded by the Scottish Government, which provided support to 39 candidates in the 2017 Scottish local authority elections, 15 of whom were elected; and calls on the Government to act on the recommendation of the Equality and Human Rights Commission without further delay.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Antoniazzi, Tonia Labour Party Gower 28.06.2017
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 04.07.2017
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 05.07.2017
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.06.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 04.07.2017
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 20.07.2017
Cameron, Lisa Scottish National Party East Kilbride Strathaven and Lesmahagow 03.07.2017
Cowan, Ronnie Scottish National Party Inverclyde 04.07.2017
Crawley, Angela Scottish National Party Lanark and Hamilton East 28.06.2017
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 28.06.2017
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.06.2017
De Cordova, Marsha Labour Party Battersea 28.06.2017
Dodds, Anneliese Labour Party Oxford East 28.06.2017
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 29.06.2017
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 28.06.2017
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 18.07.2017
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.06.2017
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 29.06.2017
George, Ruth Labour Party High Peak 28.06.2017
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 28.06.2017
Grant, Peter Scottish National Party Glenrothes 04.07.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 04.07.2017
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 28.06.2017
Hardy, Emma Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 28.06.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 28.06.2017
Killen, Gerard Labour Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 28.06.2017
Lake, Ben Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 28.06.2017
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 18.07.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 29.06.2017
Lewis, Clive Labour Party Norwich South 29.06.2017
Linden, David Scottish National Party Glasgow East 04.07.2017
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 28.06.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 28.06.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 28.06.2017
Martin, Sandy Labour Party Ipswich 09.10.2017
Maskell, Rachael Labour Party York Central 29.06.2017
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.09.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 29.06.2017
McNally, John Scottish National Party Falkirk 18.07.2017
Moran, Layla Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 28.06.2017
O'Mara, Jared Labour Party Sheffield Hallam 28.06.2017
Pidcock, Laura Labour Party North West Durham 28.06.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 28.06.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.06.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 18.07.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 29.06.2017
Stevens, Jo Labour Party Cardiff Central 10.07.2017
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 28.06.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 28.06.2017
Western, Matt Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 04.07.2017
Whitford, Philippa Scottish National Party Central Ayrshire 19.07.2017
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 28.06.2017