Early day motion 1076

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Chancellor of the Exchequer's review of red diesel usage announced in the Spring Budget 2017 statement; expresses concern at the amount of air pollution caused by diesel-powered transport refrigeration units; notes that those units can emit up to six times as much nitrogen oxide and almost 30 times as much particulate matter as a Euro 6 truck engine; further notes that those units are often run on red diesel, which is subsidised by HM Treasury; believes that subsidising red diesel inhibits the Government's plans to support the development and take-up of cleaner technologies; notes that if the UK's 84,000 transport refrigeration units became zero emission it would equate to taking 4 million Euro 6 diesel cars off the UK's roads; and therefore urges the Government to act and end red diesel subsidies for transport refrigeration units.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 17

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 17 out of 17

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Boswell, Phil Scottish National Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 20.03.2017
Brown, Alan Scottish National Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 20.03.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 21.03.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 22.03.2017
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 20.03.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 22.03.2017
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 22.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 21.03.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 21.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 20.03.2017
Mak, Alan Conservative Party Havant 16.03.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 20.03.2017
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.03.2017
Mullin, Roger Scottish National Party Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath 20.03.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 22.03.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 20.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.03.2017