Early day motion 1004

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the deportation of Irene Clennell, who has been married to a British man for 27 years and has two British sons and a granddaughter, to Singapore, due to her spending periods of time in Singapore caring for her elderly parents and invalidating her residential status; notes that Mrs Clennell was detained at a routine appointment at an immigration reporting centre in Middlesbrough and held prior to deportation in Scottish detention centre Dungavel House, which is infamous for abuse and inhumanity, and on Sunday morning was taken from Dungavel to Singapore, with just £12 in her pocket, without any of her clothes or belongings, leaving behind her sick husband Jon, for whom she is a carer; further notes that this is just one example of the Government's relentless drive towards unrealistic migration caps that don't take real lives into account and tear apart families; and urges the Home Office to develop a more humane approach to immigration rules immediately.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bardell, Hannah Scottish National Party Livingston 06.03.2017
Blackford, Ian Scottish National Party Ross Skye and Lochaber 08.03.2017
Cherry, Joanna Scottish National Party Edinburgh South West 08.03.2017
Docherty, Martin Scottish National Party West Dunbartonshire 07.03.2017
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.03.2017
Gethins, Stephen Scottish National Party North East Fife 07.03.2017
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.03.2017
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 02.03.2017
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 06.03.2017
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.03.2017
Kerr, Calum Scottish National Party Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 13.03.2017
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 01.03.2017
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.03.2017
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 06.03.2017
McDonald, Stewart Scottish National Party Glasgow South 02.03.2017
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.03.2017
McGarry, Natalie INDEPENDENT Glasgow East 02.03.2017
McLaughlin, Anne Scottish National Party Glasgow North East 06.03.2017
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.03.2017
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 07.03.2017
Monaghan, Carol Scottish National Party Glasgow North West 06.03.2017
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 02.03.2017
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 29.03.2017
Nicolson, John Scottish National Party East Dunbartonshire 06.03.2017
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 08.03.2017
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Gordon 06.03.2017
Saville Roberts, Liz Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.03.2017
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.03.2017
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 06.03.2017
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 02.03.2017
Thewliss, Alison Scottish National Party Glasgow Central 08.03.2017
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 13.03.2017
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 06.03.2017