Early day motion 669

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House acknowledges UN figures which suggest that meat production is responsible for approximately 18 per cent. of global carbon emissions; further acknowledges that methane, emitted by cows and pigs, is 23 times more powerful than carbon dioxide as a greenhouse gas; recognises that across the UK 1 million tonnes of beef, 1.3 million tonnes of pork and 1.8 million tonnes of poultry are consumed every year; further recognises that this level of meat consumption is detrimental to the health of the nation and increasingly to the public purse; further recognises that global meat production is forecast to almost double to 456 million tonnes in 2050 compared to 2001 levels; believes that current meat consumption levels are unsustainable if the Climate Change Act 2008 is to be successfully implemented to help the UK fight against climate change; calls for a shift towards less meat-oriented diets nationally; further recognises that meat-free Mondays would help to promote this; and further believes that Parliament should set an example by supporting meat-free Mondays in all cafeterias in the Houses of Parliament.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 33

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 33 out of 33

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 11.10.2010
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.09.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.02.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 24.01.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 22.03.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.09.2010
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 20.10.2010
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 12.10.2010
Green, Kate Labour Party Stretford and Urmston 08.02.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 13.09.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.09.2010
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 07.02.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 25.01.2011
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 18.10.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.10.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 06.09.2010
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 16.09.2010
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 18.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.09.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.09.2010
McGovern, Alison Labour Party Wirral South 24.03.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.09.2010
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 03.05.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 27.04.2011
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 11.10.2010
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.01.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2010
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 13.10.2010
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.12.2010
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 11.10.2010
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 14.03.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 09.11.2010