Early day motion 631

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the negative impact of below-cost selling in the food industry on a whole range of issues, from employment conditions and consumer choice to animal welfare and the maintenance of the UK producer base; is concerned at retailers demanding high levels of discounting disproportionate to production costs and attempting to shift costs to manufacturers and growers both locally and internationally; and therefore supports the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union, representing many of those working in the food industry in the UK, in its call for greater regulation to tackle the unfair advantages of big retailers in order to protect employment conditions within the food industry and the diversity of small manufacturers and producers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.07.2010
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 15.09.2010
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 27.07.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.09.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.09.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.09.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.07.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.07.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.07.2010
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 26.07.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.09.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.09.2010
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.07.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.09.2010
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 06.09.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.09.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 07.09.2010
Hilling, Julie Labour Party Bolton West 16.09.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.07.2010
Jones, Graham Labour Party Hyndburn 07.09.2010
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 26.07.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 09.09.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 13.09.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.09.2010
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.09.2010
McDonnell, John [R] Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.07.2010
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 06.09.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.09.2010
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 13.09.2010
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 06.07.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 14.06.2011
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 26.07.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.09.2010
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.07.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 27.07.2010
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 23.05.2011