Early day motion 919

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that women detained in Yarl's Wood Immigration Removal Centre have been on hunger strike since 5 February 2010 in protest against being detained for up to two years; condemns the detention of victims of rape and other torture, of mothers separated from their children and anyone who does not face imminent removal; believes that such detention flouts international conventions and UK immigration rules; requests that HM Inspector of Prisons urgently carries out an independent investigation into reports of violence, mistreatment and racist abuse from guards, being kettled for over five hours in a hallway, denied access to toilets and water and locked out in the freezing cold, which women have made to their lawyers, the media and supporters, including the All African Women's Group and Black Women's Rape Action Project; and calls for a moratorium on all removals and deportations of the women who took part in the hunger strike pending the results of that investigation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 51

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 51 out of 51

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 05.03.2010
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 25.03.2010
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 05.03.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.02.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 25.02.2010
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 11.03.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 24.02.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.04.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 29.03.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 30.03.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 24.02.2010
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 03.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2010
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 11.03.2010
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 02.03.2010
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.04.2010
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 25.02.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 25.02.2010
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 17.03.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 24.02.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 03.03.2010
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 06.04.2010
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 15.03.2010
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 01.03.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.03.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 05.03.2010
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 10.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 24.02.2010
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 08.03.2010
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 15.03.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 25.02.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.02.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 08.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.02.2010
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 16.03.2010
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.02.2010
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 25.02.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.02.2010
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 02.03.2010
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 04.03.2010
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 30.03.2010
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 24.02.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.03.2010
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 04.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.02.2010
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 12.03.2010
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 09.03.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 22.03.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 04.03.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 23.03.2010