Early day motion 690

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the importance of welfare officers in the Civil Service who provide valuable and cost-effective welfare services to their colleagues; expresses concern at plans in HM Revenue and Customs and other Government departments to abolish these posts and move towards using privatised, less personal employee assistance services such as automated telephone services; expresses concern that these plans come at a particularly bad time as staff morale is low due to future job insecurity and the economic crisis; strongly believes that the Government should set an example when it comes to preventative measures to support well-being at work; further believes that accessible, professional and personal contact in the workplace for someone in distress is vital and that these services should continue to be delivered by the civil servants with a proven track record of provision; and urges HM Revenue and Customs and others in the Civil Service to reconsider their proposals.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 01.02.2010
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 09.02.2010
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 22.02.2010
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 27.01.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.01.2010
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 26.01.2010
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 22.02.2010
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 01.02.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 27.01.2010
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.01.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 26.01.2010
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.02.2010
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.01.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 29.01.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.01.2010
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 23.02.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.01.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 21.01.2010
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 24.02.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 26.01.2010
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 09.02.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 03.02.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 27.01.2010
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.01.2010
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.02.2010
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 22.02.2010
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 26.01.2010
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 28.01.2010
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 21.01.2010
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 22.02.2010
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.02.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.01.2010
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 09.02.2010
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 26.01.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.02.2010
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 01.02.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 27.01.2010
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 21.01.2010
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 26.01.2010
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 27.01.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 28.01.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 26.01.2010
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 09.02.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.01.2010
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 26.01.2010
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 22.02.2010
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 28.01.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.01.2010
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.01.2010
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 03.02.2010
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 04.02.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 21.01.2010
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 21.01.2010
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 26.01.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.01.2010
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.01.2010
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 21.01.2010
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.02.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 28.01.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 25.01.2010
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 28.01.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 03.03.2010