Early day motion 1172

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned by the mass exodus of Iraqi Christians, which has decimated much of Iraq's ancient Assyrian-Chaldean community; notes that the Assyrian-Chaldeans make up over 95 per cent. of Iraq's Christians and that this exodus has largely been caused by escalating violence against Christians from fanatical extremists, including the bombing of churches and the assassination of Iraqi Christians; further notes that there has been illegal expropriation of Assyrian-Chaldean land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plain in northern Iraq; recognises that Iraqi Christians are a major force for moderation, who can act as a significant buffer against the spread of extremism in Iraq; calls on the British and Iraqi governments urgently to encourage and support the creation of self-governing province in Iraq for the Assyrian-Chaldeans, linked to the central government in Baghdad, situated in and around the Nineveh Plain and including Tel Kaif, Al-Hamdaniya and Al-Shikhan districts, and governed by the Assyrian-Chaldeans and other ethnic groups living in that area, as these lands form part of the ancestral homeland of the Assyrian-Chaldeans and are still heavily populated by them; and urges the UK and Iraqi governments to support financially the reconstruction of the region, to end the political marginalisation of the democratically elected Assyrian-Chaldean representatives in Iraq, to assist the Assyrian-Chaldeans in reclaiming their land and villages in Dohuk province and the Nineveh Plain, and to financially support internally displaced Assyrian-Chaldeans and the return and resettlement of Assyrian-Chaldean refugees.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 58

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 58 out of 58

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 24.03.2010
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.03.2010
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 30.03.2010
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 24.03.2010
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 23.03.2010
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 06.04.2010
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 24.03.2010
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.03.2010
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 23.03.2010
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 30.03.2010
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.03.2010
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 25.03.2010
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 29.03.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.03.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.03.2010
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 24.03.2010
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.03.2010
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 24.03.2010
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.03.2010
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.03.2010
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 24.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.03.2010
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 29.03.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 29.03.2010
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 24.03.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.03.2010
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 07.04.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 24.03.2010
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 24.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 30.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.03.2010
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 24.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.03.2010
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 23.03.2010
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 29.03.2010
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 30.03.2010
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 06.04.2010
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 30.03.2010
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.03.2010
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 30.03.2010
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 06.04.2010
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 23.03.2010
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 29.03.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.03.2010
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 24.03.2010
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.03.2010
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 23.03.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.04.2010
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 25.03.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 29.03.2010
Waterson, Nigel Conservative Party Eastbourne 24.03.2010
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 24.03.2010
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 06.04.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.03.2010
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 24.03.2010
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 29.03.2010
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 24.03.2010