Early day motion 665

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House applauds the Guardian's serialised coverage of the tax avoidance industry and its cost to the public; observes that due to the complex and secretive nature of tax avoidance there is no accurate figure for the amount of tax that big business avoids paying in the UK every year; notes that the Trades Union Congress (TUC) estimates this annual hole in the public accounts to be £12 billion whilst the Public Accounts Committee puts the figure at £8.5 billion; further notes with concern the National Audit Office's finding that in 2006 more than 60 per cent. of Britain's 700 biggest companies paid less than £10 million corporation tax and 30 per cent. paid nothing; regards companies in the FTSE 100 and others indulging in this highly addictive practice as guilty of corporate malfeasance; seriously regrets that families and small to medium-sized businesses continue to plug this gap through disproportionately higher taxes; regrets the Government and HM Revenue and Customs' decision to close local tax offices at a time when the tax system is under sustained attack from the major accountancy firms on behalf of their corporate clients during a recession; believes that those accountancy firms offering tax avoidance products and advice should be excluded from tendering for public sector contracts until they stop serving this highly destructive and socially irresponsible corporate habit; and calls on the Government to respond formally to the Guardian's findings as part of a wholesale review of the corporate tax system.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 24.02.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 11.02.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 04.02.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 04.02.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2009
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 11.02.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.02.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 11.02.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.02.2009
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 23.02.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.02.2009
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 12.02.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.02.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 09.02.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 09.02.2009
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 10.02.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 04.02.2009
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 05.02.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 03.02.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.02.2009
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 20.03.2009
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 16.03.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 03.02.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 04.02.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 09.02.2009
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 23.02.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 11.02.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.02.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 23.02.2009
Heath, David Liberal Democrats Somerton and Frome 24.02.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 05.02.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.02.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 04.02.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.02.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 03.02.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 04.02.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 23.02.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.02.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 04.02.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 04.02.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 11.02.2009
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 26.02.2009
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 04.02.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.02.2009
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 03.02.2009
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 25.02.2009
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 11.02.2009
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 27.03.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 03.02.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 05.02.2009
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 05.02.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 03.02.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.02.2009
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's Bush 09.02.2009
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 10.02.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 24.02.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 05.02.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 03.02.2009
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 23.02.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 04.02.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 04.02.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.02.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.02.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 09.02.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 04.02.2009
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 23.02.2009