Early day motion 586

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the fact that the number of journalists killed worldwide in work-related incidents during 2008 has dropped significantly to 104 from the record high of 179 in 2007 according to the report by the International Federation of Journalists, January 2009; but notes with concern that many journalists are killed whilst reporting on news stories and that local journalists covering national, local and community stories remain the main targets for deliberate attacks to intimidate and silence them; further notes that many governments around the world do not launch serious investigations into the deaths of independent journalists; believes that the freedom of journalists to work without fear is vital for any democratic society; and therefore urges the Government to use all international opportunities to support the freedom and safety of journalists worldwide.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 54

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 54 out of 54

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 09.02.2009
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 27.01.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 27.01.2009
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 27.01.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.01.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.02.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 26.01.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 26.01.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.01.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 27.01.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 28.01.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 09.02.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 27.01.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 28.01.2009
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.03.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.01.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.01.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 04.02.2009
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 26.01.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 26.01.2009
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 23.02.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 11.02.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 02.02.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 02.02.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 26.01.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2009
Howells, Kim Labour Party Pontypridd 25.02.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 27.01.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 02.02.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 29.01.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 23.02.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 27.01.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 24.02.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.01.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 28.01.2009
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 27.01.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.01.2009
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 26.01.2009
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 26.01.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.04.2009
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.03.2009
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 12.03.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 27.01.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 27.01.2009
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 27.02.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 02.02.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 02.02.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 27.01.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 26.01.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 27.01.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.02.2009
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 05.02.2009
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 23.02.2009