Early day motion 285

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is alarmed by evidence suggesting that many healthy but unprofitable thoroughbreds are slaughtered in British abattoirs or shot in racing yards every year; notes that the Chairman of the British Horseracing Authority (BHA) has acknowledged the problem of over-production of racehorses; believes that horse welfare problems flowing from racehorse over-production are likely to worsen as a result of the BHA's future fixtures list which will deny racing opportunities to hundreds of lower-rated horses; further notes that every year more than 160 horses die or are destroyed due to racecourse injuries; calls on the Government to undertake and put into the public domain a full audit of racehorse production, death and injury; and asks it to urge racing's regulators to act decisively to remedy the problems of racehorse over-production and the alarming level of equine death on British racecourses.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 108

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 108 out of 108

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 23.04.2009
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 26.03.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 26.10.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.06.2009
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 12.10.2009
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.02.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.12.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 17.12.2008
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 26.02.2009
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 10.11.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 19.01.2009
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 11.11.2009
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 13.10.2009
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 11.11.2009
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 04.06.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 13.01.2009
Cawsey, Ian Labour Party Brigg and Goole 01.04.2009
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 05.05.2009
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 14.05.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 15.12.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 16.12.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 15.01.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.12.2008
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.05.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 01.06.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.05.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 07.05.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 14.01.2009
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 16.06.2009
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 06.05.2009
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 20.04.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 21.05.2009
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 06.05.2009
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 05.05.2009
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 27.04.2009
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 10.03.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.12.2008
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 06.07.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 26.02.2009
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 05.05.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 17.12.2008
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 14.01.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.10.2009
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 02.04.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 02.04.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 13.05.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 23.02.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 15.01.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.01.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.12.2008
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 01.06.2009
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 02.06.2009
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 22.06.2009
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 24.02.2009
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 17.03.2009
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 27.04.2009
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 01.06.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.12.2008
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 09.06.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 14.01.2009
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 11.11.2009
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 26.02.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 06.05.2009
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 05.05.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.12.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 01.06.2009
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 26.02.2009
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 10.06.2009
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 22.01.2009
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 11.05.2009
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 03.03.2009
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 07.05.2009
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 22.01.2009
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 14.01.2009
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 06.03.2009
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 23.02.2009
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 19.05.2009
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 13.03.2009
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 21.01.2009
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.03.2009
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 08.06.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.12.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 12.01.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 24.03.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.12.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 06.05.2009
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 22.06.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 01.06.2009
Spink, Bob INDEPENDENT Castle Point 16.12.2008
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 15.01.2009
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 03.03.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.01.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 06.05.2009
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 11.06.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 03.03.2009
Taylor, Ian Conservative Party Esher and Walton 14.07.2009
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 13.01.2009
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 28.01.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.01.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 13.01.2009
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 10.03.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.02.2009
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 26.02.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 12.01.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.05.2009
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2008
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 20.04.2009
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 10.02.2009