Early day motion 1908

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that section 24 of the Animal (Scientific Procedures) Act 1986, as recently interpreted by the Court of Appeal, prevents the Home Office from disclosing all information, however trivial, about animal experiments that researchers want kept secret; agrees that information such as researchers' names and addresses and genuinely confidential information should remain secret; but believes that the public should be able to access all other information, including what is being done to the animals and for what purpose; and calls on the Government to repeal section 24 using its powers under section 75 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 46

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 46 out of 46

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 26.10.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 11.11.2009
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 12.10.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 21.07.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.07.2009
Cawsey, Ian Labour Party Brigg and Goole 11.11.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 13.10.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 13.10.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.07.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.10.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 16.07.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 20.07.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 22.10.2009
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 16.07.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 19.10.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.07.2009
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 20.07.2009
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 26.10.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 20.07.2009
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 21.07.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 12.10.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 21.07.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 20.07.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 21.07.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 27.10.2009
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 16.07.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.07.2009
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 27.10.2009
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 09.11.2009
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 28.10.2009
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 21.07.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.07.2009
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.07.2009
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 16.07.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.10.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 21.07.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 04.11.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 19.10.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 20.07.2009
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 13.10.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 14.10.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 13.10.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 21.07.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 26.10.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 26.10.2009
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 02.11.2009