Early day motion 1863

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that 2009 is the 70th anniversary of the end of the longest strike in history, the Burston School strike of 1914 to 1939; acknowledges the historic significance of the reasons behind the strike carried out by Tom and Kitty Higdon; recognises the commitment of the teaching profession throughout the years to ensure that all young people are afforded a good education; and calls on the Government to consider a memorial commemorating the stand that the Higdons, their pupils and their parents made in 1914.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 13.07.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 16.07.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 13.07.2009
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 13.07.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 15.07.2009
Cairns, David Labour Party Inverclyde 16.07.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.07.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.07.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 13.07.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 20.07.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.07.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 13.10.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.07.2009
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.07.2009
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 13.07.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 14.07.2009
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 15.07.2009
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 13.07.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 15.07.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 21.07.2009
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 14.07.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 14.07.2009
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 13.07.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 15.07.2009
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 15.07.2009
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 13.07.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 22.10.2009
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 13.07.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.07.2009
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 15.07.2009
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 13.07.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 13.07.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 13.07.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.07.2009
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 13.07.2009
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 13.07.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 14.07.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 14.07.2009
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 14.07.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 13.07.2009
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 13.07.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 13.07.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.07.2009
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 13.07.2009
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 13.07.2009
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 13.07.2009
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 21.07.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 13.07.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.07.2009
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 13.07.2009
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 13.07.2009
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 16.07.2009
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 13.07.2009
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 13.07.2009
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 13.07.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.07.2009
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.07.2009
Southworth, Helen Labour Party Warrington South 13.07.2009
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 13.07.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 13.07.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 15.07.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 15.07.2009
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 16.07.2009
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 13.07.2009
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 13.07.2009