Early day motion 1618

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled by the collapse of Dairy Farmers of Britain which went into receivership owing £50 million to its 1,800 members; is deeply concerned that the impact on the UK dairy industry and on individual dairy farmers and their families will be devastating; deplores the banks' deliberate timing of the calling in of the loan to Dairy Farmers of Britain, causing the calling in of the receivers to maximise the benefit to secured creditors at the expense of those member farmers' May milk cheques; calls on the Government to underwrite the payments that Dairy Farmers of Britain were due to pay to dairy farmers for milk supplied in May or to force Dairy Farmers of Britain's bankers to pay the May milk cheques; also calls on the Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs and the Prime Minister to intervene to ensure that buyers do not exploit stricken dairy farmers by paying sub-market prices; and endorses the Farmers Guardian petition which urges the dairy industry's biggest customers to both buy British and to ensure that dairy farmers receive a fair return for their produce.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 85

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 85 out of 85

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainger, Nick Labour Party Carmarthen West and Pembrokeshire South 26.06.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 22.06.2009
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 17.06.2009
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 18.06.2009
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 23.06.2009
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.06.2009
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 11.06.2009
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 10.06.2009
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 13.07.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.06.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.06.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.06.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.06.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 10.06.2009
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 10.06.2009
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 29.06.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 15.06.2009
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 10.06.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 11.06.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2009
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 22.06.2009
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 09.06.2009
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 14.07.2009
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.06.2009
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 25.06.2009
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 10.06.2009
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 26.06.2009
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 16.06.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.06.2009
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 13.07.2009
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 11.06.2009
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 29.06.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.06.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.06.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 18.06.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.06.2009
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 26.06.2009
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 15.06.2009
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 19.06.2009
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 10.06.2009
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 02.07.2009
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 24.06.2009
Luff, Peter Conservative Party Mid Worcestershire 09.07.2009
Maclean, David Conservative Party Penrith and the Border 18.06.2009
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 23.06.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 29.06.2009
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 18.06.2009
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 10.06.2009
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.06.2009
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 24.06.2009
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.06.2009
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 23.06.2009
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 30.06.2009
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 07.07.2009
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 11.06.2009
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 22.06.2009
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 05.11.2009
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 19.06.2009
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 17.06.2009
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 25.06.2009
Plaskitt, James Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 15.06.2009
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.06.2009
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 07.07.2009
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 06.07.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 01.07.2009
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 10.06.2009
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 24.06.2009
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 02.07.2009
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 17.06.2009
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.06.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 24.06.2009
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 16.06.2009
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.07.2009
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 30.06.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 10.06.2009
Timpson, Edward Conservative Party Crewe and Nantwich 16.06.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 10.06.2009
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 22.06.2009
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 17.06.2009
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 24.06.2009
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 23.06.2009
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 23.06.2009
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 10.06.2009
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 10.06.2009
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 12.06.2009