Early day motion 1271

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes rail transport can provide a lower carbon emission alternative to the car and lorry; believes the railways during the recession can be a powerhouse for promoting green jobs, a green stimulus to the economy and managed in a way which alleviates the effects of the economic downturn; is therefore dismayed that despite being heavily reliant on billions of pounds of Government subsidy, thousands of passenger services, infrastructure and freight jobs are being threatened or have been lost on the railways and London Underground with the Government in effect subsidising redundancy; is appalled that these cuts will also affect the level and quality of service and are taking place despite private railway companies continuing to pay a dividend to shareholders and presiding over the most expensive fares in Europe; supports the call of the rail unions for an immediate industry-wide moratorium on cuts in jobs and services on the railways and London Underground and a freeze in dividends with all profits instead invested to protect services and jobs; and further believes that the Government should create an integrated, publicly-owned and accountable people's railway where passengers and workers have a real voice, which puts people before profit by ensuring all revenues are used to safeguard and expand rail services, jobs and skills, to expand electrification, develop high speed lines and introduce affordable and fair fares.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 55

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 55 out of 55

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 16.07.2009
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.05.2009
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 26.10.2009
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.06.2009
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 20.07.2009
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 20.07.2009
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.04.2009
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.04.2009
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.07.2009
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 21.04.2009
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 21.07.2009
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 02.04.2009
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 02.04.2009
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 06.05.2009
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 23.04.2009
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 22.04.2009
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 08.07.2009
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 02.04.2009
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.04.2009
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 23.04.2009
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.06.2009
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 14.07.2009
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 27.04.2009
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.04.2009
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.04.2009
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 02.04.2009
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 27.04.2009
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 07.05.2009
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 14.07.2009
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 06.05.2009
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 22.04.2009
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 30.04.2009
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 02.04.2009
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 10.06.2009
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 05.05.2009
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.04.2009
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 07.07.2009
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 21.07.2009
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 05.11.2009
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 18.05.2009
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 15.07.2009
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 05.05.2009
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 22.04.2009
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 29.04.2009
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 13.10.2009
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 06.05.2009
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 27.04.2009
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 29.06.2009
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 02.04.2009
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 23.04.2009
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 13.10.2009
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 22.04.2009
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.07.2009
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 20.04.2009
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.07.2009