Early day motion 939

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with growing concern the ever-increasing rate at which bingo clubs are closing across Great Britain; regrets the associated loss of an important social amenity - especially for elderly people - in communities where bingo clubs close; regrets the substantial loss to the economy of duties, income tax, National Insurance contributions, business rates and capital investment associated with bingo club closures; regrets the loss of employment, with more than 3,500 jobs lost in the last five years; notes that bingo is the only form of gambling to be subject to both 17.5 per cent. VAT and 15 per cent. gross profits tax; and urges the Government to take the earliest opportunity, Budget 2008, to minimise the number of further club, job and amenity losses in the future through the abolition of VAT on bingo revenues.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 87

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 87 out of 87

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Danny Liberal Democrats Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 05.03.2008
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 22.02.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 20.02.2008
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 30.06.2008
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 05.03.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 21.02.2008
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 29.04.2008
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 04.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.02.2008
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 06.03.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 06.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 20.02.2008
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 18.02.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 27.02.2008
Conway, Derek Independent Conservative Old Bexley and Sidcup 22.02.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 31.03.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 26.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.02.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 18.02.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 20.02.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 20.02.2008
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.02.2008
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 18.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 19.02.2008
Duddridge, James Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 18.02.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 18.02.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 22.02.2008
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 18.02.2008
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 27.02.2008
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 03.03.2008
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 27.02.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.02.2008
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 22.02.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 14.03.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 18.02.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 27.02.2008
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 28.02.2008
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 03.03.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.02.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 19.02.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 20.02.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 21.02.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 22.02.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.02.2008
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 06.03.2008
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 26.02.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 27.02.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 19.02.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 22.04.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 19.02.2008
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 03.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 20.02.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 12.03.2008
Maclean, David Conservative Party Penrith and the Border 03.03.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 20.02.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 27.02.2008
Mason, John Scottish National Party Glasgow East 28.10.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 19.02.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.02.2008
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 28.02.2008
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 20.02.2008
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 19.03.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 21.02.2008
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 20.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 26.02.2008
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 20.02.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 18.02.2008
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 20.03.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 04.03.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.02.2008
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 25.02.2008
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 20.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.02.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 22.02.2008
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 28.02.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 18.02.2008
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 20.03.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 07.03.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 19.02.2008
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 07.03.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 21.02.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 20.02.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 20.02.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 19.02.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 19.02.2008
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 26.02.2008