Early day motion 807

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that tinnitus is a noise in the head with no corresponding external source, which severely affects almost 2.3 million or five per cent. of the adult population in the UK; observes that sufferers can be debilitated and that symptoms can range from disturbed sleep to behavioural changes which can destroy relationships and turn healthy people into recluses unable to work or enjoy a normal life; believes that there needs to be an increased focus on this condition, giving it a proper priority within the NHS; accepts that increased funding and greater awareness would give immeasurable help to sufferers in the UK; applauds the efforts of the British Tinnitus Association (BTA) during National Tinnitus Week, 11th to 17th February; supports the BTA's decision to fund a three year Research Fellowship at the Ear Institute, UCL, which has been made possible by the generosity of members and by legacies; and therefore calls on the Government to match this funding and to give tinnitus a higher priority in the NHS.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 102

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 102 out of 102

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 04.02.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 01.02.2008
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 29.01.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 21.02.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 18.02.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 31.01.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.01.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 30.01.2008
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 29.01.2008
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 06.02.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 30.01.2008
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 06.02.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.01.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 01.02.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.01.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 31.01.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.02.2008
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 06.03.2008
Conway, Derek Independent Conservative Old Bexley and Sidcup 22.02.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 31.01.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 05.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.01.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 31.01.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 30.01.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 05.02.2008
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 30.01.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 30.01.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 30.01.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 30.01.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 18.02.2008
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 30.01.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 30.01.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 07.02.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 07.02.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 30.01.2008
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 20.02.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 18.02.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 06.02.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 29.01.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 31.01.2008
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 04.02.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 07.02.2008
Hancock, Mike [R] Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 01.02.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.02.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 25.02.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 05.02.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 30.01.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2008
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 04.02.2008
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 18.02.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 30.01.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.02.2008
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 07.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 05.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 30.01.2008
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 31.01.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 04.03.2008
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 30.01.2008
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 27.02.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.02.2008
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 29.01.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 29.01.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 30.01.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 04.02.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 31.01.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 30.01.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.01.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 13.06.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.03.2008
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 07.02.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 31.01.2008
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 04.02.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 04.02.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 31.01.2008
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 18.02.2008
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 19.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.02.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 05.02.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.01.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 30.01.2008
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 29.01.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.02.2008
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 01.02.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 29.01.2008
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 07.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 20.02.2008
Taylor, David [R] Labour Party North West Leicestershire 29.01.2008
Taylor, Ian Conservative Party Esher and Walton 04.02.2008
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 04.02.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 19.02.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 30.01.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 30.01.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.02.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.02.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 30.01.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 06.02.2008
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 30.01.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 30.01.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 30.01.2008
Wright, Tony Labour Party Cannock Chase 18.02.2008