Early day motion 785

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned by the exponential growth of private military and security companies (PMSCs) since the invasion of Iraq; is disturbed by the substantial rise of reported incidents of civilian killings and human rights abuses by PMSC guards in Iraq who remain unregulated and unaccountable; further notes that problems posed by proliferation of PMSCs were highlighted in a Green Paper in February 2002 that originated in a request from the Foreign Affairs Committee but that, six years later, there is still no United Kingdom legislation regulating PMSCs; believes that self-regulation by the industry is not appropriate in this instance; and urges the Government to bring forward legislative proposals for the control of the PMSC sector as an urgent priority.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 92

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 92 out of 92

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.01.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 01.02.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 02.04.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 18.02.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.01.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 01.04.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 29.01.2008
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 16.06.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 11.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 18.02.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.01.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 19.02.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.01.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 18.02.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 20.10.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 20.02.2008
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 18.02.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.01.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 28.01.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 30.01.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 30.01.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 29.01.2008
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 22.10.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 29.01.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.02.2008
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 19.02.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 28.01.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 29.02.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 07.02.2008
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 29.02.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.01.2008
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 05.02.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 06.02.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 20.10.2008
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 25.04.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 29.04.2008
Goldsworthy, Julia Liberal Democrats Falmouth and Camborne 18.02.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 07.02.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.01.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 21.07.2008
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 05.02.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 21.02.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 22.02.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 05.02.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2008
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 17.03.2008
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 05.02.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 18.02.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 04.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 28.01.2008
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 19.02.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 21.04.2008
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 25.02.2008
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 20.02.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 13.10.2008
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 01.04.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 22.05.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 21.02.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 30.01.2008
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 18.02.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 04.02.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 31.01.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.01.2008
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 03.06.2008
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 22.02.2008
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 18.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.02.2008
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 05.02.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 27.02.2008
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 06.02.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 23.04.2008
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 31.01.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 05.02.2008
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 18.02.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.02.2008
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 04.02.2008
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 22.02.2008
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 26.02.2008
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 19.06.2008
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 18.02.2008
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 19.02.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 27.02.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 30.01.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 29.01.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.02.2008
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 18.02.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 29.01.2008
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 18.02.2008
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 16.07.2008
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 10.03.2008