Early day motion 650

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its serious concern about the chaos on Britain's railways over the New Year period and its impact on many thousands of passengers; considers that these problems derive essentially from the privatisation and consequent fragmentation of the railway industry and the jungle of associated contracting and sub-contracting; notes that the costs of trackwork have multiplied since privatisation with these extra costs amounting to billions of pounds paid for by passengers through high fares and by massively increased taxpayer subsidies; recalls the comments of the former railway regulator that British Rail (BR) `worked miracles on a pittance' and had handed over the railways to the privateers `in good order'; further recalls the Catalyst report which found that despite decades of under-funding BR had the highest level of productivity in Europe; and concludes therefore that Britain's railways should now be returned to public ownership and reintegrated into a single industry with direct in-house employment at every level.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 28.01.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 16.01.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.01.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.01.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 08.01.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 16.01.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.01.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 08.01.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 10.01.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 10.01.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 09.01.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.01.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 08.01.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 21.01.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.01.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 14.01.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 08.01.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 07.02.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.01.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 15.01.2008
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 08.01.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.01.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.01.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 29.01.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 10.01.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 21.01.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 17.01.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 09.01.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.01.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.01.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 09.01.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 17.01.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 15.01.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.01.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.01.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 08.01.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.01.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 14.01.2008
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 28.01.2008