Early day motion 594

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the publication of the Alzheimer's Society report Home from Home which highlights large variations in the quality of care experienced by people with dementia in care homes; believes that good quality care improves quality of life for individuals living in care homes; notes that 420,000 people live in care homes in the UK and two thirds of care home residents have dementia; further notes that the primary function of care homes is now caring for people with dementia, many of whom will have complex needs; further notes that Government policy in recent years has focused on supporting people in their own homes; further believes that it is important that Government policy also considers the needs of the care home population; further notes that caring for residents with dementia is a highly skilled task; is concerned that only a minority of care home staff have adequate dementia training; believes the formation of the Commission for Quality Care should be used as an opportunity to ensure the new regulation and inspection systems focus on outcomes that matter to people with dementia, including access to outside space and activities; and urges the Government to ensure the National Dementia Strategy addresses the needs of the care home population.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 108

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 108 out of 108

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ancram, Michael Conservative Party Devizes 09.01.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 09.01.2008
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 22.07.2008
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 10.07.2008
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 08.01.2008
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 08.01.2008
Boswell, Tim Conservative Party Daventry 04.02.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.12.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.01.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 09.01.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 21.07.2008
Butterfill, John Conservative Party Bournemouth West 04.02.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 07.01.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.01.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.01.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.01.2008
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.01.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2007
Crabb, Stephen Conservative Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 17.12.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 18.12.2007
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 04.02.2008
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 02.06.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 10.01.2008
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 18.12.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 07.01.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 18.12.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.01.2008
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 09.01.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2008
Dunne, Philip Conservative Party Ludlow 02.06.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.01.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 08.01.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 21.01.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 17.12.2007
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 17.12.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 09.01.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 07.01.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.12.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 18.12.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 17.01.2008
Gove, Michael Conservative Party Surrey Heath 05.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.01.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.01.2008
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 12.03.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 07.01.2008
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 30.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 07.01.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.12.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 18.12.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 07.02.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.01.2008
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 21.04.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.01.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 04.02.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 05.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 09.01.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 18.12.2007
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 18.02.2008
Lancaster, Mark Conservative Party Milton Keynes North East 20.06.2008
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 04.02.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 10.01.2008
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 10.01.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 09.01.2008
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 18.06.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 08.01.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 10.01.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 14.01.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 16.10.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.01.2008
Mitchell, Andrew Conservative Party Sutton Coldfield 01.04.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 03.07.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 15.01.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 01.05.2008
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 07.02.2008
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 09.01.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 18.12.2007
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 16.01.2008
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 02.06.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 08.01.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.12.2007
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 06.10.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 04.02.2008
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.01.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.01.2008
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 13.03.2008
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 04.06.2008
Spicer, Michael Conservative Party West Worcestershire 25.03.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 17.12.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.01.2008
Taylor, Ian Conservative Party Esher and Walton 08.07.2008
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 08.01.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 08.01.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.01.2008
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 17.12.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.01.2008
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 17.12.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 18.12.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 28.01.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 09.01.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 10.01.2008
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 04.03.2008
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 08.01.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 08.01.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 17.12.2007
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 17.01.2008
Wright, Jeremy Conservative Party Rugby and Kenilworth 17.12.2007