Early day motion 2333

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that Chagos Islanders were disgracefully treated by successive British governments, by their forced removal from Diego Garcia and the Archipelago and their impoverished life in Mauritius and the Seychelles; further notes that the indefatigable spirit of the Chagossians enabled them to win their Right to Return by a High Court decision in 2000; further notes that the late Robin Cook as Foreign Secretary accepted this decision in its entirety; deplores the Government's use of Orders in Council nearly four years later to overturn the High Court judgment and the failure to consult Parliament on the matter; further notes that the Chagossians have won successive legal judgments in the British courts and notes that by a majority verdict the House of Lords endorsed the Foreign Secretary's appeal, upholding the Orders in Council; nevertheless believes an historic injustice has been done, and that the Foreign Office should now open serious discussions with the Islanders on their mode of return and to provide sufficient funding from UK and European sources to enable justice.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 30.10.2008
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 30.10.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 19.11.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 13.11.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.11.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 18.11.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 27.10.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 03.11.2008
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 13.11.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.10.2008
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 28.10.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 13.11.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 06.11.2008
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 29.10.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.10.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.10.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 30.10.2008
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 06.11.2008
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 06.11.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.10.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 28.10.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.10.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.10.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 23.10.2008
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 04.11.2008
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 10.11.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.10.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 13.11.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 30.10.2008
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 22.10.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.10.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 29.10.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.11.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 23.10.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 28.10.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 30.10.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 28.10.2008
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 25.11.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 28.10.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.10.2008
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 03.11.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 28.10.2008
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 03.11.2008
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 04.11.2008
Pelling, Andrew INDEPENDENT Croydon Central 10.11.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.11.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 18.11.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.11.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 28.10.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 12.11.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 10.11.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 23.10.2008
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 03.11.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 28.10.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 28.10.2008
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 28.10.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 28.10.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 03.11.2008