Early day motion 2024

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the 167 confirmed cases of variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease (vCJD) in the UK, including three through blood transfusion, compared with three in total in the USA; congratulates and welcomes the work of Christine Lord, following the tragic death of her son Andy from vCJD at the age of 24, in establishing a website, www.justiceforandy.com, and producing a BBC South documentary Who Killed My Son which can be watched on www.justiceforandy.com; asks the BBC to screen the documentary nationwide; notes the death from vCJD of another six young people living within 25 miles of Portsmouth; further asks the Government to commission further research to establish common factors, such as school catering, among vCJD victims in South Hampshire as well as elsewhere in the country; further notes the written answer from the Minister of State for Health on 11th March 2008, giving a vCJD sub-clinical prevalence estimate of up to 1 in 1,400 of the population; and further asks that the Government completes its evaluation of screening for prions in blood supply and other possible measures to protect the blood supply as soon as possible, in light of the conclusions reported in the 15th annual report of the National Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease Surveillance Unit that blood transfusion is beyond reasonable doubt a possible transmission route for vCJD.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 22.07.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 17.07.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 06.10.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.07.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 21.07.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 16.07.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 17.07.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 15.07.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 21.07.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 22.07.2008
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 27.10.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 14.07.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 21.07.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 16.07.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 16.07.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 16.07.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 17.07.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 22.07.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.07.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.07.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.07.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.07.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 21.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.07.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 21.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.07.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 16.07.2008