Early day motion 2010

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its profound disappointment at the Government's decision to repeal the regulation requiring employers' liability compulsory insurance policies to be retained for 40 years; notes that there is no reliable mechanism for ensuring the preservation of insurance policies if a company ceases trading; is deeply concerned at the impact that this will have on workers suffering from industrial diseases such as mesothelioma who will be unable to obtain legally awarded damages in the future because they will not be able to trace their employers' liability insurance policies; and calls on the Government to establish a central electronic database for the compulsory recording of all employers' liability insurance policies before the repeal of regulation 4(4) of the Employers' Liability (Compulsory Insurance) Regulations 1998.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 74

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 74 out of 74

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 21.07.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 17.07.2008
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 21.07.2008
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 15.07.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 10.07.2008
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 22.07.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.07.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.07.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 16.07.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 09.07.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 22.07.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 09.07.2008
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 09.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 14.07.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 09.07.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 21.07.2008
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 16.07.2008
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 06.10.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 17.07.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 09.07.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.10.2008
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 17.07.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.07.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 14.07.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.07.2008
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 16.07.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 16.07.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 17.07.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 10.07.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 22.07.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.07.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.07.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 21.07.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 15.07.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 10.07.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 10.07.2008
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 16.07.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.07.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 09.07.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 16.07.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 14.07.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 17.07.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.07.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 14.07.2008
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 15.07.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.07.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 21.07.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 15.07.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.07.2008
McFall, John Labour Party West Dunbartonshire 21.07.2008
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 07.10.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 09.07.2008
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 24.11.2008
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 21.07.2008
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 09.07.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 09.07.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 09.07.2008
Robertson, Hugh Conservative Party Faversham and Mid Kent 13.10.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 16.07.2008
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 17.07.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 09.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 17.07.2008
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 14.07.2008
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 22.07.2008
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 14.07.2008
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 06.10.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 15.07.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 09.07.2008
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 16.07.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 09.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.07.2008
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.07.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 14.07.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 09.07.2008