Early day motion 1871

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that Concentrating Solar Power (CSP) technology, a means of capturing solar energy from deserts, has the potential to generate a substantial proportion of Europe's future electricity needs; notes that it would be feasible and cost-effective to transmit energy derived from desert based CSP plants in North Africa to Europe via the creation of a high voltage direct current (HVDC) super-grid, as this would restrict transmission losses to just three per cent. per 1,000 km; further notes that the cost of collecting solar thermal energy equivalent to the energy output of one barrel of oil is currently about US$50 and is likely to fall to around US$20 in the future, which is substantially less than the current world price of oil; welcomes the work that has been done by the Trans-Mediterranean Renewable Energy Co-operation (TREC) in promoting the development of CSP and an integrated Europe and North Africa-wide HVDC super-grid; and calls on the Government to endorse TREC's proposals formally and to work with its international partners to advance the concept.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 62

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 62 out of 62

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.06.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 25.06.2008
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 14.07.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.06.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.07.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.06.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.07.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 30.06.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 02.07.2008
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 07.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.06.2008
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 26.06.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 25.06.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 02.07.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.10.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.06.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.07.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 01.07.2008
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 17.07.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.07.2008
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 03.07.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.07.2008
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 07.07.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 20.10.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 30.06.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.06.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.06.2008
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 07.10.2008
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 06.10.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 25.06.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 25.06.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 30.06.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 03.07.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 15.10.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 06.10.2008
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 26.06.2008
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 17.07.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.07.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 02.07.2008
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 06.10.2008
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 16.07.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 25.06.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.06.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.07.2008
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.07.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 01.07.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 03.07.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 02.07.2008
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 17.07.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 09.07.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.06.2008
Short, Clare INDEPENDENT LABOUR Birmingham Ladywood 07.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 02.07.2008
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 24.06.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 22.07.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 25.06.2008
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 07.07.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 25.06.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.07.2008
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 21.07.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 30.06.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 25.06.2008