Early day motion 1630

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is appalled by the treatment of animals in China, which includes live feeding and performance animals at zoos, organised horse fighting and the mass slaughter of companion animals; notes with deep concern that there are no animal welfare laws in place for the purpose of protecting China's domestic, farmed and captive animals; recognises the unique diplomatic opportunity presented by China's hosting of the Olympic Games in August which will include a meeting between His Excellency Hu Jintao, President of the People's Republic of China, and the Prime Minister; and urges the Prime Minister, in his discussions with the Chinese President, to raise the issue of animal welfare standards.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 83

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 83 out of 83

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 07.07.2008
Ancram, Michael Conservative Party Devizes 21.07.2008
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 06.06.2008
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 30.06.2008
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 10.07.2008
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 30.06.2008
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 02.07.2008
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.11.2008
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 06.10.2008
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 06.10.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.06.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 05.11.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 15.07.2008
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 07.10.2008
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 03.07.2008
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 10.07.2008
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 09.06.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 10.07.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 03.06.2008
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 16.07.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 02.07.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.06.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 02.07.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.06.2008
Curtis-Thomas, Claire Labour Party Crosby 02.07.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 16.07.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 04.06.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 22.05.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.06.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.06.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.06.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 02.06.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 09.06.2008
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 19.06.2008
Heath, David Liberal Democrats Somerton and Frome 17.07.2008
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 19.06.2008
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 21.05.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 02.06.2008
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 06.10.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 03.06.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 21.07.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 03.06.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 22.05.2008
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 22.07.2008
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 13.10.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.06.2008
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 10.06.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 14.10.2008
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 21.07.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 03.06.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 06.10.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2008
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 07.07.2008
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 16.07.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 13.06.2008
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 06.10.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 18.06.2008
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 07.07.2008
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 22.07.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 02.07.2008
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 05.06.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 26.06.2008
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 02.06.2008
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 17.07.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.07.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.06.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 03.06.2008
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 03.07.2008
Smith, Angela C Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 16.07.2008
Spicer, Michael Conservative Party West Worcestershire 16.07.2008
Spink, Bob UKIP Castle Point 02.06.2008
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 21.07.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 04.06.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 03.06.2008
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 06.10.2008
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 16.07.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.07.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.06.2008
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 09.10.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.06.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 07.07.2008
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 06.10.2008
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 22.07.2008