Early day motion 1170

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that it is some time since the Interim Chemical Review Committee (ICRC), a part of the United Nations Environmental Programme, recommended that all forms of asbestos should be subject to strict international controls to eliminate the risk associated with the material; is shocked that although white asbestos was nominated by the ICRC for inclusion in the Prior Informed Consent (PIC) list of the Rotterdam Convention its entry on the list was stalled in 2006 by national governments led by Canada; is concerned that some international trades unions have reported an increase in asbestos diseases in Latin America and Asia particularly India; believes that parliaments and their members have a responsibility to ensure that decent work for a fair globalisation includes the right not to be exposed to hazardous materials; and calls on the UK Government to take the lead in pressing for white asbestos to be included in the Rotterdam Convention PIC list as a prelude to a global ban of what has been called the most pervasive environmental hazard in the world.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 88

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 88 out of 88

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.03.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 19.03.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 19.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.03.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 12.03.2008
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 11.03.2008
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 25.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.03.2008
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 12.03.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 12.03.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 11.03.2008
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 11.03.2008
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 12.03.2008
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 11.03.2008
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.03.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 11.03.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 11.03.2008
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 21.04.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.03.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.03.2008
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.04.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 19.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 11.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.04.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.03.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.03.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 12.03.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.03.2008
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 11.03.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 11.03.2008
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 31.03.2008
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 01.04.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 13.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 26.03.2008
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 11.03.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 12.03.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.03.2008
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 12.03.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 12.03.2008
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 11.03.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 11.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 13.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.03.2008
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 20.03.2008
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.03.2008
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 25.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 17.03.2008
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 20.03.2008
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 12.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 11.03.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 19.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2008
McKenna, Rosemary Labour Party Cumbernauld Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch East 11.03.2008
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 11.03.2008
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 11.03.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 11.03.2008
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 13.03.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 19.03.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 11.03.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.03.2008
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 11.03.2008
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 19.03.2008
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.04.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 19.03.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 11.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.03.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.03.2008
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.03.2008
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 11.03.2008
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 12.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 12.03.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 12.03.2008
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 18.03.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 12.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.03.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 20.03.2008