Early day motion 1137

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the Royal Society of Chemistry on organising Voice of the Future 2008 on 11th March at the House and on its continuing commitment to serve the public interest by seeking to improve the access of hon. Members to scientific information and a better understanding of science; notes that Voice of the Future 2008 is taking place during National Science and Engineering Week and involves young scientists and engineers from all over the UK, members of the UK Youth Parliament and A-level science students from Holland Park School, Wallington High School, Trinity School and St Olave's School; further notes that the event will be addressed by the Minister for Science and Innovation and will also feature a special Science Question Time with hon. Members on the Select Committee on Innovation, Universities, Science and Skills; applauds the involvement in this event of many of the UK's greatest science and engineering organisations including the Royal Society, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Physics, the Institute of Biology, the Biosciences Federation, the Science Council, the Institution of Chemical Engineers, the Geological Society, the Royal Astronomical Society and many other organisations including the Campaign for Science and Engineering; welcomes the expertise and assistance that these eminent bodies can give to Parliament; and further welcomes the contribution that Voice of the Future 2008 can make to building and maintaining a constructive dialogue between Parliament and the younger generation of scientists and engineers on scientific and technological issues.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 59

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 59 out of 59

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 20.03.2008
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 19.03.2008
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 19.03.2008
Boswell, Tim Conservative Party Daventry 12.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.03.2008
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 06.10.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 26.03.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 21.04.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.03.2008
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 18.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 11.03.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 11.03.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 11.03.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 11.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 20.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.04.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.03.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.03.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.03.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 11.03.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 10.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.03.2008
Heath, David Liberal Democrats Somerton and Frome 10.03.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.03.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.03.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 12.03.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 26.03.2008
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 11.03.2008
Iddon, Brian [R] Labour Party Bolton South East 10.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.03.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 13.03.2008
Lancaster, Mark [R] Conservative Party Milton Keynes North East 10.03.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.03.2008
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 11.03.2008
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 11.03.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 18.03.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 12.03.2008
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.03.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 20.03.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.03.2008
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 19.03.2008
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 19.03.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 26.03.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 12.03.2008
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 10.03.2008
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 20.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 26.03.2008
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 11.03.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 12.03.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.03.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 11.03.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 25.03.2008
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 12.03.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 10.03.2008
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 11.03.2008
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 12.03.2008