Early day motion 1053

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the importance of International Women's Day on 8th March; notes that it has been observed for almost 100 years and that significant achievements have been made to advance women's equality during that time; further notes with dismay the continuing challenges women face to achieve social, economic and political equality and the failure to make progress on the important targets set by Millennium Development Goal 5, to reduce by three quarters the maternal mortality ratio; further notes that there are still more than 500,000 women dying globally each year from preventable causes related to pregnancy and childbirth and that this is a denial of their basic human rights; and therefore demands greater efforts by the international development community to increase funding and technical expertise to solve this continuing public health emergency.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 89

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 89 out of 89

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 28.02.2008
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 05.03.2008
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 27.02.2008
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 26.02.2008
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 05.03.2008
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.02.2008
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 03.03.2008
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 28.02.2008
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 05.03.2008
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 30.04.2008
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 05.03.2008
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 29.02.2008
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.03.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 27.02.2008
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.02.2008
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.03.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.02.2008
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 20.03.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 03.03.2008
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 28.02.2008
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 28.02.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 27.02.2008
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.03.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.03.2008
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 04.03.2008
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 11.03.2008
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 26.02.2008
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.02.2008
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 14.03.2008
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 27.02.2008
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 04.03.2008
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 27.02.2008
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 27.02.2008
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 26.02.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.02.2008
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 21.04.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 27.02.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.03.2008
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 06.03.2008
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 27.02.2008
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 27.02.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 28.02.2008
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 27.02.2008
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 04.03.2008
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.03.2008
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 27.02.2008
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 28.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.02.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 04.03.2008
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 26.02.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.03.2008
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 27.02.2008
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 07.03.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 27.02.2008
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 03.03.2008
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 26.02.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.02.2008
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 03.03.2008
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 28.02.2008
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Berwickshire Roxburgh and Selkirk 28.02.2008
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 26.02.2008
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 05.03.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 27.02.2008
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.03.2008
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 03.03.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 05.03.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 27.02.2008
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.02.2008
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 02.04.2008
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.03.2008
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 28.02.2008
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.04.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 28.02.2008
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 28.02.2008
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 26.02.2008
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 27.02.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.03.2008
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.03.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 03.03.2008
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 03.03.2008
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 27.02.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 27.02.2008
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 27.02.2008
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 27.02.2008
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 03.03.2008
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 12.03.2008
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 02.06.2008