Early day motion 1034

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the continued growth of national chains of shops, building societies and public houses in Britain's high streets; further notes that these chains generally use corporate shop fronts and signage; believes that such standard formats are driving out individuality in our town centres and creating a homogeneised high street; and calls upon the Government to issue regulations to strengthen the powers of local authorities who wish to insist that shop fronts and signage should reflect the nature and character of the building.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 32

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 32 out of 32

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.02.2008
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 26.02.2008
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.02.2008
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 26.02.2008
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 26.02.2008
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 04.03.2008
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.03.2008
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 27.02.2008
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.02.2008
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 26.02.2008
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.02.2008
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 28.02.2008
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 27.02.2008
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 26.02.2008
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 04.03.2008
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 26.02.2008
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 03.03.2008
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 27.02.2008
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 27.02.2008
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 27.02.2008
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 05.03.2008
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 27.02.2008
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 26.02.2008
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 28.02.2008
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 04.03.2008
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.02.2008
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 03.03.2008
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 27.02.2008
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 26.02.2008
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 26.02.2008
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 26.02.2008
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 25.02.2008