Early day motion 917

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the increase in pedlars contravening the terms of their certificates; further notes that the current legislation on pedlars dates from 1871 and that they are exempted from the Local Government (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1982; believes that the practice of pedlars staying in one spot to sell goods adversely affects the ability of local authorities to protect consumers and legitimate street traders; supports moves to update legislation currently regulating pedlars by conferring on local authorities powers better to control street trading; congratulates Newcastle-upon-Tyne City Council on its success in bringing in private legislation to combat this problem, but regrets the high costs involved and the potential piecemeal effect of combating the problem in this way; and calls upon the Government to allow local authorities outside London to benefit from the powers that those authorities within London can already exercise by supporting the hon. Member for Bolton South East's Ten Minute Rule Bill, the Pedlars (Street Trading Regulation) Bill.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 75

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 75 out of 75

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 28.02.2007
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 20.02.2007
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.03.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 02.03.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 23.02.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 21.02.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 22.02.2007
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 27.02.2007
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 20.02.2007
Browne, Jeremy Liberal Democrats Taunton 21.02.2007
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 28.02.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 22.02.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.02.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.02.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 22.02.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 27.02.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.02.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.02.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 23.02.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 22.02.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.02.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.02.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 21.02.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 27.02.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.02.2007
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 01.03.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 21.02.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 20.02.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 20.02.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 26.02.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 22.02.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.03.2007
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 26.02.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.02.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 20.02.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 20.02.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 23.03.2007
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 23.02.2007
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 20.02.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 27.02.2007
Key, Robert Conservative Party Salisbury 22.02.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 20.02.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 26.02.2007
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.02.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 03.05.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 23.02.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 20.02.2007
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 23.02.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.02.2007
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 28.02.2007
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 20.02.2007
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 23.02.2007
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 03.05.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 20.02.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 20.02.2007
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.05.2007
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 21.02.2007
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 27.02.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.04.2007
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 21.02.2007
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 20.02.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 28.02.2007
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 02.03.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 21.02.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 20.02.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 26.02.2007
Taylor, Richard INDEPENDENT Wyre Forest 20.02.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 20.02.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 21.02.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 21.02.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 20.02.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 20.02.2007
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 22.02.2007
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 05.03.2007