Early day motion 875

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House celebrates the second anniversary of the implementation of the Hunting Act 2004 and the end of the gratuitous cruelty of traditional hare-coursing, stag hunting and foxhunting; congratulates the hunts who have changed to drag hunting, eliminating the prolonged pursuit and barbaric deaths of defenceless animals; is delighted that the Act did not destroy 35,000 jobs or the economy of the countryside nor lead to the putting down of thousands of hounds and horses; is concerned at suggestions in the media that some illegal hunting is taking place; is disturbed that some extreme elements of the hunting fraternity believe themselves to be above the law and claim to break the law with impunity; is further concerned at the use of intimidatory tactics by some hunt supporters to prevent peaceful and legal monitoring of hunts; welcomes the three prosecutions in 2005 and further prosecutions in 2006 which demonstrate the effectiveness of the Hunting Act in targeting illegal hunting; notes that hunts have had adequate time to adjust; and now calls for rigorous vigilance and prosecutions of organised and systematic breaches of the Act.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 117

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 117 out of 117

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 19.02.2007
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 28.02.2007
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 15.03.2007
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 19.02.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 01.03.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 07.03.2007
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 27.02.2007
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 02.03.2007
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 28.02.2007
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 06.03.2007
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 20.02.2007
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 27.02.2007
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 22.02.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 23.02.2007
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 27.02.2007
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 21.02.2007
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 19.03.2007
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 15.03.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 20.02.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.02.2007
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 26.02.2007
Clark, Paul Labour Party Gillingham 12.07.2007
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 27.02.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 19.02.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 22.02.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.02.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.02.2007
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.02.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 19.03.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 23.02.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 19.02.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.02.2007
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.02.2007
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 16.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 26.02.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 27.02.2007
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 06.03.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.02.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.03.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 02.03.2007
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 19.03.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 17.04.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 21.02.2007
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 20.02.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 05.03.2007
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 22.03.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.02.2007
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 20.02.2007
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 20.02.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.02.2007
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 09.03.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 21.02.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.02.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 21.02.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 21.02.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 20.02.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 19.02.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 23.03.2007
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 21.02.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 28.02.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.02.2007
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 08.02.2007
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 05.03.2007
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 26.03.2007
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 04.06.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 13.03.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 28.02.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 20.02.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.02.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 26.02.2007
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 08.10.2007
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 05.06.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 27.02.2007
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 05.03.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 08.02.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 20.02.2007
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 26.02.2007
McCarthy-Fry, Sarah Labour Party Portsmouth North 20.02.2007
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 21.02.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 26.02.2007
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 10.05.2007
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 08.02.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 18.07.2007
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 21.02.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 20.02.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 22.02.2007
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 20.02.2007
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 20.02.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 22.02.2007
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 05.03.2007
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 07.03.2007
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 02.03.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.02.2007
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 08.03.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.02.2007
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 20.06.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 28.02.2007
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 19.02.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 21.02.2007
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 19.02.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.03.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 18.04.2007
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 21.02.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 07.03.2007
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 29.03.2007
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 19.03.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 21.02.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 21.02.2007
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 19.02.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 21.02.2007
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 08.03.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 02.03.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 21.03.2007
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 26.02.2007
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 22.02.2007
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 20.03.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 21.02.2007