Early day motion 636

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets that athletes with a learning disability are unable to compete in any event sanctioned by the International Paralympic Committee (IPC); notes that as a consequence of this ban all athletes with a learning disability at all levels are unable to receive funding from the Lottery and other official sources because funding is geared to supporting progress to paralympic competition; further notes that this inhibits athletes from reaching their full potential by denying them the chance to compete; regrets the considerable distress which the IPC ban causes to athletes with a learning disability and their families; further notes that this situation has lasted for more than six years; understands that the ban was first implemented in 2000 because of cheating by a small group of non-disabled people; believes that it is wrong that athletes with a learning disability should suffer a ban because of cheating by non-disabled people; recognises the efforts made by the UK Sports Association for People with Learning Disability and their international colleagues to devise a rigorous classification test to ensure that prospective competitors do have a learning disability; and calls on all sides to expedite agreement on a new classification system and therefore asks the Government to make a clear statement that athletes with a learning disability should be allowed to compete in the 2012 Paralympic Games.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 61

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 61 out of 61

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Alexander, Danny Liberal Democrats Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 16.01.2007
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.02.2007
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 16.01.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.01.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 23.01.2007
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 18.01.2007
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 31.01.2007
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 25.01.2007
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 24.01.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 29.01.2007
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 29.01.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 22.01.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.01.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 22.01.2007
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 10.05.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 17.01.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 18.01.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 17.01.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 25.01.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 01.02.2007
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 25.01.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.01.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 31.01.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.01.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 16.01.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 27.06.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 22.01.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 24.01.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 18.01.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 24.01.2007
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 05.02.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 18.01.2007
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 24.01.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 19.01.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 25.01.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 17.01.2007
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 22.01.2007
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 07.02.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.01.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 25.01.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.01.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 17.01.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.01.2007
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 08.03.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 22.01.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 23.01.2007
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 23.01.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 18.04.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.01.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.01.2007
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.01.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 16.01.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 06.02.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 01.03.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.01.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 17.01.2007
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 17.01.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 23.01.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.01.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 24.01.2007
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 22.03.2007