Early day motion 2103

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House celebrates the contribution of ITV Regional News to the DNA of ITV, providing millions of viewers with news programmes that strongly reflect the cultural and social lives of their area; reflects that regional news has been a key obligation of the Channel 3 licence holder since its launch in 1954 providing strong competition to the BBC in this genre of programming to the benefit of all viewers; recognises that Ofcom's first PSB review concluded that the existing commercial PSB model would not be sustainable following digital switchover but also notes Michael Grade's comments in June 2007 that `if ITV got an advertising credit for its national and regional programmes....Immediately ITV would have an added incentive to invest in programming for the nations and regions'; strongly opposes the Chairman of ITV's precipitate plan announced in September 2007 to cut regional news budgets in half, from £90 million today to £40-50 million in the future, reduce regions from 17 (11 regions and 6 sub-regions) to nine, and merge areas such as Tyne Tees with Border, West and West country, East and West Midlands and Meridian and Thames Valley; and calls on ITV and Ofcom to work together to find a solution that enables ITV to generate sufficient income to maintain a regional news network of which both the country and the regions are rightly proud.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 87

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 87 out of 87

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 11.10.2007
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 11.10.2007
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 25.10.2007
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 17.10.2007
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 11.10.2007
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 11.10.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 29.10.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2007
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 11.10.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 16.10.2007
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 11.10.2007
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 11.10.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 17.10.2007
Burns, Simon Conservative Party West Chelmsford 16.10.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.10.2007
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 11.10.2007
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 25.10.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 15.10.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.10.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.10.2007
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 15.10.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 11.10.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 11.10.2007
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 25.10.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 16.10.2007
Duddridge, James Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 11.10.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.10.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.10.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 23.10.2007
Fallon, Michael Conservative Party Sevenoaks 11.10.2007
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 11.10.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.10.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 16.10.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 24.10.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.10.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 11.10.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 11.10.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 11.10.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 24.10.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.10.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 11.10.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 11.10.2007
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 17.10.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 11.10.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.10.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 11.10.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.10.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 11.10.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 11.10.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.10.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.10.2007
Keeble, Sally Labour Party Northampton North 11.10.2007
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 11.10.2007
Laws, David Liberal Democrats Yeovil 29.10.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 17.10.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 11.10.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 15.10.2007
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 11.10.2007
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 11.10.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 16.10.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 11.10.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 11.10.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.10.2007
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 15.10.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 11.10.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 11.10.2007
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 24.10.2007
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 11.10.2007
Pritchard, Mark Conservative Party The Wrekin 23.10.2007
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 17.10.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 25.10.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 11.10.2007
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.10.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.10.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 11.10.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 25.10.2007
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 15.10.2007
Soulsby, Peter Labour Party Leicester South 11.10.2007
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 11.10.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 15.10.2007
Taylor, Dari Labour Party Stockton South 23.10.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 11.10.2007
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 15.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.10.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 16.10.2007
Waterson, Nigel Conservative Party Eastbourne 15.10.2007