Early day motion 1859

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the call by the Trades Union Congress, the National Council for Voluntary Organisations, Community Service Volunteers, Volunteering England and the National Association for Voluntary and Community Action for a new Community Day bank holiday to celebrate and encourage community action and involvement; agrees that community activity is good for the participants, wider society and the economy; notes that even with an extra bank holiday there would still be two fewer public holidays in the United Kingdom than the European Union average; and believes that the day would recognise the importance of the often unsung efforts of volunteers and community groups and the role they play in promoting the diversity and variety which is an important part of the values that bind the United Kingdom together.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 18.07.2007
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 12.07.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.07.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 12.07.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.07.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 11.07.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 10.07.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 11.07.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 09.07.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.07.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 12.07.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 10.07.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 11.07.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 16.07.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 10.07.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.07.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 09.07.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 17.07.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 17.07.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 11.07.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 10.07.2007
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 10.10.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.07.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.07.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.07.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 11.07.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 19.07.2007
Levitt, Tom Labour Party High Peak 09.10.2007
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 05.07.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.07.2007
McCartney, Ian Labour Party Makerfield 10.07.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.07.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 19.07.2007
Oaten, Mark Liberal Democrats Winchester 09.07.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 24.07.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 09.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 12.07.2007
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 12.07.2007
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.07.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 09.07.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.07.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 09.07.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.07.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 10.07.2007