Early day motion 1791

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House observes that racecourse bookmakers are part of the historical and cultural fabric of horse race meetings in this country; notes that all racecourse bookmakers will lose significant amounts of money, and run the risk of going out of business, if racecourses are allowed to assume the ownership rights of racecourse betting pitches in 2012, as a consequence, perhaps unintended, of the Gambling Act 2005; notes that many bookmakers rely on the equity ownership of these racecourse pitches to provide for their pension; and calls upon the Government to review the Gambling Act 2005 and consider whether any amendments may be necessary to bring an end to the dispute between the Federation of Racecourse Bookmakers and its members, and the Racecourse Association in order to secure the livelihoods and assets purchased by those affected by this dispute.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 43

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 43 out of 43

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 12.07.2007
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 05.07.2007
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 26.07.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 08.10.2007
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 08.10.2007
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 08.10.2007
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 08.10.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 28.06.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 22.10.2007
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 04.07.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 03.07.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 28.06.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 25.07.2007
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Central Ayrshire 23.07.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 09.07.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 04.07.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 08.10.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 08.10.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 28.06.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 08.10.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 24.10.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.10.2007
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 08.10.2007
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 08.10.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 08.10.2007
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 08.10.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 25.07.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 25.07.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 24.07.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 25.07.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 03.07.2007
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 25.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.07.2007
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.07.2007
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 24.07.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 08.10.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 10.07.2007
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 08.10.2007
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 24.07.2007
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 26.07.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 09.07.2007
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 08.10.2007
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 08.10.2007