Early day motion 1467

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the commitment from the Labour Party in its General Election Manifesto 2005 that it will review the impact on the Royal Mail of market liberalisation, which is being progressively introduced under the Postal Services Act 2000 and which allows alternative carriers to the Royal Mail to offer postal services; notes that the manner in which competition has been introduced has resulted in Royal Mail losing 40 per cent. of its high revenue access products in three years and that this rate of losses will raise a question over the financing of the Universal Service Obligation by Royal Mail; further notes that there are options which the review can examine to support the Universal Delivery Service Obligation, such as a support fund or a supplement to the access price charged for competitors who currently receive the benefit of Royal Mail's Universal Service without paying for it; and calls upon the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry to ensure that the promised review is begun without delay.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 12.07.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 29.10.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 17.05.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 16.05.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 16.05.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.05.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 17.05.2007
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.05.2007
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 15.05.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 05.06.2007
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 16.05.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 17.05.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.05.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 16.05.2007
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 16.05.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 16.05.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 17.05.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.05.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 18.05.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 16.05.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 15.05.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 24.05.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 16.05.2007
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 15.05.2007
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 18.05.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 04.06.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.05.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 11.06.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 21.05.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 20.06.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.05.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 16.05.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 17.05.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 20.06.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 17.05.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.05.2007
Laxton, Bob Labour Party Derby North 15.05.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 16.05.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 16.05.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 21.05.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 18.05.2007
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 17.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 14.06.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.05.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 16.05.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.05.2007
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 17.05.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 24.05.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 07.06.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 04.06.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 13.06.2007
Starkey, Phyllis Labour Party Milton Keynes South West 15.05.2007
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 16.05.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 16.05.2007
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 05.07.2007
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 26.07.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 16.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.05.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.05.2007
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 17.05.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.06.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 18.05.2007