Early day motion 1417

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the recognition the Government now gives to the role of grandparents who have to act as parents to their grandchildren; notes that many such grandparents receive no additional financial help other than the basic social security allowances available to children; further notes that the Department for Work and Pensions professes to hold no information on the numbers of grandparents claiming income support allowances for their grandchildren; and calls upon the Government to set up an inquiry to determine the numbers of such grandparents throughout the country and to recommend what financial support should be available to all grandparents acting as parents to their grandchildren with an objective of reporting within six months of establishment.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 81

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 81 out of 81

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 20.06.2007
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 09.10.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 17.05.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.05.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.05.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 10.05.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.05.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.05.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.05.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 09.05.2007
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 10.05.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 08.05.2007
Davies, Quentin Labour Party Grantham and Stamford 15.10.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 14.05.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.05.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.06.2007
Dorries, Nadine Conservative Party Mid Bedfordshire 20.06.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 09.05.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.05.2007
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 12.06.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 17.05.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.05.2007
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 03.05.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.05.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 09.05.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.05.2007
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 22.05.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.05.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 21.05.2007
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 04.07.2007
Hesford, Stephen Labour Party Wirral West 17.07.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 15.05.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.05.2007
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 10.05.2007
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 09.05.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 08.05.2007
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 09.05.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 08.05.2007
Kidney, David Labour Party Stafford 03.07.2007
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 25.06.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 15.05.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 10.05.2007
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 09.05.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.05.2007
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 09.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.05.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 09.05.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.05.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2007
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 09.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.05.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 10.05.2007
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 18.06.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 15.05.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.05.2007
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 15.05.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 25.07.2007
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 08.05.2007
Rooney, Terry Labour Party Bradford North 17.10.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.05.2007
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 08.05.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.05.2007
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 04.06.2007
Southworth, Helen Labour Party Warrington South 17.05.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 08.05.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 14.05.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 09.05.2007
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 08.10.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.05.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 10.05.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 14.05.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 09.05.2007
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 10.05.2007
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 08.05.2007
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 04.07.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 15.05.2007